Network Cabling

Each type of cable serves a different function. Some of the most used cables are Category  5, Category 5e, Category 6 and Category 6e. They are also referred to as Cat 5, Cat 5e, Cat 6 and Cat 6e.


Category5 is the slowest of the cables we are speaking of today, practically obsolete. Up to 100MHz bandwidth, Cat5 can handle only about 10 – 100 Mbps. We steer clear of Cat5 as there are far better cables on the market today.


Category5e is a step above Cat5. At 100MHz bandwidth, it can handle 1000 Mbps (gig Ethernet). It also helps signals from interfering with each other by keeping them on different circuits.


Category6 network cabling is even better than Cat5e, in fact, it is a major improvement! It can handle 10 gig Ethernet at 250 MHz. Cat6 isolates pairs from each other due to the internal separator, which significantly cuts down on interference.


Category6e network cabling network cabling is the enhanced version of Cat6. It can handle 10 gig Ethernet speed at 500 MHz. It is double the speed of Cat6. On a 100 meter cable, the speed mentioned can be reached easily.

For more information on the different types of cables, please check back for future blogs on the subject. We would also be more than happy to meet with you to discuss details of your needs, just give us a call!

phone: 440-808-8448


Follow us on Facebook!



About Author: Shannon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

No Spam! * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.